Seven faculty and staff members from Temple College have been selected to receive 2016 awards from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development (NISOD), an organization committed to promoting and celebrating excellence in teaching, learning and leadership at community and technical colleges.

The recipients are Brent Colwell, newly appointed director of the Division of Fine Arts; Alison Garza, a developmental mathematics instructor; Patrick Finnegan, coordinator of veterans affairs; Stephanie Perkins, director of the Testing Center; Stephen Phelps, newly appointed chair of the Criminal Justice Department; Claudia Turner, an instructor in the Associate Degree Nursing program; and Spanish instructor Aurora Wold-Krogmann.

The NISOD Excellence Awards were established in 1991 to provide NISOD-member colleges with an opportunity to recognize individuals doing extraordinary work on their campuses. Award recipients are honored each May at NISOD’s International Conference on Teaching and Leadership Excellence. This year’s conference will be held May 28-31 in Austin.

Using their own criteria, NISOD member colleges submit the names of men and women each year who have demonstrated an outstanding commitment and contribution to their students and colleagues.